TET – Teacher Eligibility Test | History | Eligibility

TET – Teacher Eligibility Test | History | Eligibility

The government of India introduced TET Indian entrance exam. The exam was held to improve the standard of teaching, and to reach to the point of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act. The exam is for teachers who are willing to teach children in government schools, and exams are held by both the government state and central also. There are two types of paper, I AND II. Paper, I am for those teachers who wants to teach STD I to STD V and paper II are for those teachers who wants to teach STD VI to STD VIII.



1    History
2    The Test
3    Central Teacher Eligibility Test
4    Andhra Pradesh
5    Rajasthan
6    Haryana Teacher Eligibility Test
7    Punjab State Teacher Eligibility Test
8    References
9    External links

History: THE GOVT OF INDIA conducted Teacher Eligibility Test. TET was held in 2011 for the first time. It was carried out to achieve the goals of children, to improve teaching standard and fulfill the right of children education act. Those teachers working in schools already have to clear TET in two years time.

The Test: The TET database is controlled by (NCTE) National Council for Teacher Education. TET has two types of paper I and II. Applicant has to get above 60% to pass the eligibility test. Candidates who have done graduation or B.A, B.Sc, B.Com can also apply for teacher eligibility test. To join has a teacher all B.Ed graduates has to clear this exam.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test:

 The CTET exams are controlled by the Central Board of Secondary Education Delhi as per ordered by The Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India. The Exams of CTET are arranged two times in a year by CBSE. In the year 2016, the first review was organized on 21 Feb 2016 and the second exam arranged in 18th Sep 2016. The results of the first review were shown in March and results for the second exam was shown in October. Nearby 9 lakh candidates appear for the exam.

Note: For study materials of CTET click here

Andhra Pradesh: In 2012 around four lakh applicants participate in the review. But only approximate 20% candidate was selected for TET.

Rajasthan: In Rajasthan, the exams for the teacher are controlled by (RBSE) Rajasthan Board of Secondary Education. TET Teacher Eligibility Tests are held two times in a year; the test contains two types of level, i.e., level 1 and level 2. Both the level will have 150 question and the time for an applicant applying the exam will be two hours and thirty minutes. The question for level 1 are given in five column such has I, II, III, IV, V, and question for level 2 are presented in four parts in which I, II, III, are common.

Haryana Teacher Eligibility Test:

In Haryana the exams for the teacher are controlled by (BSEH)Board of School Education Haryana for different types of teacher teaching in school such has Primary (PRT), Trained Graduate Teacher (TGT), and Post Graduate Teacher (PGT) as per time. Before the year 2009, the test for teacher eligibility was called as (STET) State Teacher Eligibility Test. But the RTE Act was done after 2009 by the notification of NCTE in 2011, and it was named as HTET. There are three types of test such as,

*Type 1 – Applicant who wants to become a teacher for STD I to V (Primary section).

*Type 2 – Applicant who wants to become a teacher for STD VI to VIII (TGT).

*Type 3 – Applicants who want to become PGT (Post Graduate Teacher).


To become a teacher HTET includes qualification are as follow:

*For good results the candidate who has passed HTET/STET can also give exam again.

*From the date of result HTET certificate expiry is five years. The applicant can make attempts for several times has there is no problem to attend exam to acquire the certificate.

Punjab State Teacher Eligibility Test

In Punjab the PSTET  exams for a teacher are controlled by (DSEP), Department of School Education of Punjab. The (PSTET)Punjab State Teacher Eligibility Test is arranged in two different types paper I and paper II.

An applicant who wants to work for teaching the students in STD I to STD V has to apply for a paper I.

A candidate who intends to work for teaching the students in STD V to STD VIII has to ask for paper II.

Applicants can attend exam by applying the official site of PSTET.

Note: For study materials of CTET click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *